ASSA Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
ASSA Forum

5 posters

Scooters for sledding

Paddles
    Paddles

Scooters for sledding Empty Scooters for sledding

Post by Paddles Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:43 am

I am new to dog sledding (Incredibly new! LOL) and now having my new harness's from windchill, using my sons scooter (which is just a little small) and I am thinking of buying one of the scooters advertised as for dog sledding (ie windchill, or cardiprin??) does anyone have scooters bought from these, what do you think of it.

Thank you.

Heidi Price
    [img]Scooters for sledding Th_goodshotone[/img]
    MDL

Scooters for sledding Empty Re: Scooters for sledding

Post by MDL Wed Jan 13, 2010 2:36 pm

If you find anything REALLY REALLY cheap let me know. I'm looking for a second hand one atm, or new if the price is right.

MDL
    ACT Rep
    ACT Rep

Post by ACT Rep Wed Jan 13, 2010 4:45 pm

Ha ha Heidi, your son's scooter looks like a Torper which I have been using for sledding for 7 years but then again I am also the butt of many "when you gonna get serious" jokes too. The ultimate humiliation was not when the 5 and 7 year old kids arrived at training with the same scooter as their xmas pressie a few years ago but when they graduated to 'proper' scooters and I, many decades older than them, was still on my torper! I keep promising myself a Kickbike...... one day.....
    Paddles
    Paddles

Post by Paddles Wed Jan 13, 2010 5:28 pm

Yes, it's a torper lol, I'm getting a new one as soon as I pick one... My back, hips and knees are shot, and the stress the scooter puts on them is not good. BUT, I need a scooter that I can stand evenly on both feet on (Or maybe one of the ones with a seat (Although, weather we would ever go long enough distances to need a seat....)