ASSA Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
ASSA Forum

4 posters

New to this

mattandcloud
    mattandcloud

New to this Empty New to this

Post by mattandcloud Sun Apr 29, 2012 4:54 pm

Hey everyone, im new to sledding and im just wondering if i could ask some pointers and tips from anyone who has a spare moment.
    sonbear
    sonbear

New to this Empty Re: New to this

Post by sonbear Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:06 pm

Hi, Depending on which state you are in, you can look at the Siberian husky clubs of NSW www.shcnsw.org.au and VIC www.siberianhuskyvic.org.au Canberra Sleddog club www.canberrasleddogclub.com.au , SA Sleddog club www.sasleddog.org.au and Wilddog Sleddog club SA , West Australian Sleddog Sports Association www.wassa.com.au.If you contact them they may have a starters day organised before the raceseason starts. Hope this helps.
    Kim
    mattandcloud
    mattandcloud

Post by mattandcloud Tue May 01, 2012 6:52 am

Thanks Kim, I had a look and talked to one of the people from the Vic club.
    Im also wondering if any one could give me some advice on sleeding. Ive tried on just a bike but that didn't end to well, ended with a few stacks. Thanks again for your help
    jcsledda

Post by jcsledda Tue May 01, 2012 7:56 am

G'day there. Using a bike generally ends in tears! But, we all learn the hard way. And stacks build character!

What sort of info are you after? Throw down a few lines and I'm sure there will be plenty - like myself - ready and willing to help as much as possible so that you get the most from yourself and your dog and that you enjoy the experience.

Regards,

Justin Celentane
    Snowpaw Alaskan Malamutes
    St Andrews Vic 3761
    mattandcloud
    mattandcloud

Post by mattandcloud Tue May 01, 2012 9:05 am

It scared him of the bike after the stack his really hesitant and wont run infront of it any more when I'm slowing down..