ASSA Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
ASSA Forum

4 posters

How do you make the dog run continuously?

kweeping
    kweeping

How do you make the dog run continuously? Empty How do you make the dog run continuously?

Post by kweeping Mon May 17, 2010 2:17 pm

Hi everyone

My son mushes a 6 year old husky who starts off well then slows down to a trot until another dog passes her - then she will run again. When she looses sight of that dog, she slows down to a trot again. This pattern repeats itself throughout the whole run. My junior musher is getting frustrated. Can anyone advise what we can do to overcome this? Your advice is appreciated!
    Paddles
    Paddles

How do you make the dog run continuously? Empty Re: How do you make the dog run continuously?

Post by Paddles Mon May 17, 2010 3:26 pm

I am no expert, this is my first season, but my son has the same problem with his dog, and I have the same problem with the dog I run, and we have started training with a "rabbit" in front, in my sons case, me, in my case him, we call and generally encourage the dogs to pick up speed a little. I have also found, since running them with other dogs, we have increased the amount of time spent running as opposed to jogging along. something else I have been doing (Be very carefull with this one) is running my dogs beside my bike, thus peddling andd keeping them running, not letting them drop to a trot. the theory is that they will develop the muscles to run... lessening the developement of the muscles used to trot????

As I said, I am no expert (I have English springers, not huskys) but this is what I have been doing to try to solve my problem (which by the sound of it, is the same as your problem)
    Andrew Gersbach
    Andrew Gersbach

How do you make the dog run continuously? Empty Re: How do you make the dog run continuously?

Post by Andrew Gersbach Mon May 17, 2010 4:09 pm

Hi Kweeping